Massage Therapy Following A Motor Vehicle Accident

 

If you were injured in a motor vehicle collision in Massachusetts, it is your right to seek treatment from providers of your choice. Massachusetts requires auto insurance companies to provide Personal Injury Protection (PIP) coverage on all policies. That means they will pay for treatments related to your injuries from the date of the incident OR until your PIP benefits ($8,000) are exhausted. As with most laws, there are exceptions.  A major exception in the Massachusetts PIP law is that if you have health insurance, then PIP pays only up to $2,000 in car accident related medical bills.  If there is health insurance, after the first $2,000 in medical bills are paid by PIP, the rest must be submitted to the health insurance carrier.  Bills unpaid by health insurance are then submitted back to PIP.  Health insurance companies that pay auto accident related medical bills nearly always claim a right to recover that money out of the ultimate pain and suffering settlement or court award.
. This is whether you were the driver, passenger, pedestrian, or bicyclist in the accident. PIP covers all health care, including chiropractic care, massage therapy, acupuncture, and physical therapy. You are covered regardless of who is at fault and regardless of the ultimate settlement for injuries received. And you are entitled to use the health providers of your choice. Treatments such as massage therapy, physical therapy, and medical devices must be prescribed by your doctor.  Check out www.mass.gov for details

If you were involved in an auto accident and have a prescription for massage therapy, Serenity Wellness Massage will bill your insurance company for you. Soft tissue injuries, such as sprains, strains, spasms, adhesions and inflammation can cause debilitating pain that can lead to more concerns over time. Stress and trauma wreak havoc on even the healthiest person. It's important to seek treatment as soon as possible following an accident.
Signs you might benefit from massage therapy:  
  • Pain or tension
  • Headaches or dizziness
  • Stiff joints
  • Sleep disruption
  • Fatigue
  • Anxiety or depression 
  • Trouble focusing, or getting back to daily activities
 
How to proceed:
You'll need two things prior to coming to your first massage therapy treatment. After that, we take over the paperwork responsibilities for you!  

1. Doctor's prescription for massage therapy
Prescriptions must include the following. Your doctor can write their own or provide them with the intake form below.  
  • Referring physician's full contact info, including NPI#
  • diagnosis code(s)
  • number of sessions prescribed and over what time period
  • one or more of the following CPT codes that indicate massage and manual therapy: 97124, 97140 ​

2. A completed medical Intake form below, download and print, must include the following:
  • Insurance company name, address and phone number.
  • Claim number, and the date of incident.
  • Claim adjuster's name and telephone number and/or email address.
 
 
 
 
 
Insurance Billing Rates
Due to the amount of work, extra time, and costs involved in insurance billing, we charge a rate of $50/unit when we bill third parties for your treatments. MVC/PIP patients typically have no out-of-pocket costs.